OPINION PIECES

We can't let go of the fair go
24 Jan 2017

We can't let go of the fair go

For Australia to succeed and prosper as an economy and a society, we need to ensure growth is inclusive, hard work is rewarded, and there’s a decent safety net for those left behind.

Read more... >
Impact Investing Could Improve Budgets and Lives
23 Jan 2017

Impact Investing Could Improve Budgets and Lives

It’s confronting to consider that in a prosperous nation like Australia, nearly three million people, including 730,000 children, live below the poverty line.

Read more... >
Middle Australia needs AAA rating, not business tax cut
13 Dec 2016

Middle Australia needs AAA rating, not business tax cut

The Turnbull Government can keep Australia’s AAA credit rating or it can keep its $50 billion big business tax cut – but it can’t keep both, writes Shadow Finance Minister Jim Chalmers.

Read more... >
If we ignore what motivates Hanson supporters, they will Trump us
14 Nov 2016

If we ignore what motivates Hanson supporters, they will Trump us

Almost a week on, the world is still coming to terms with Donald Trump’s shock US election victory. For so many people it was a demoralising result.

Read more... >
A Deeper Disillusionment
29 Sep 2016

A Deeper Disillusionment

Let’s not stuff around: politics has gone mad.

Read more... >
Australia cannot afford to miss the 'blockchain' revolution
24 Mar 2016

Australia cannot afford to miss the 'blockchain' revolution

An emerging technology called blockchain has the potential to transform the way we do business, and it's being rapidly developed at a time when Australia is in a very good position to take advantage, writes Jim Chalmers.

Read more... >
G20: Missing in Action on Trade
07 Mar 2016

G20: Missing in Action on Trade

Last month’s Shanghai meeting gave more ammunition to critics of the Group of 20. Its meagre outcomes bolstered the argument that while the G20 was extraordinarily successful in spurring the decisive and coordinated international action necessary to survive the global financial crisis, its post-crisis role is much diminished.

Read more... >
 There's Nothing Super about Lowering Superannuation Penalties
03 Feb 2016

There's Nothing Super about Lowering Superannuation Penalties

Are you one of the 690,000 or so Australians who weren't paid superannuation correctly last year? Most of us can depend on our employers to do the right thing and contribute quarterly to our retirement savings, but if you're the one in 15 Australian workers, you might be missing out.

Read more... >
Making a Real Choice on Superannuation
25 Jan 2016

Making a Real Choice on Superannuation

Choice in the superannuation system is one thing, but we have to be careful about who is doing the choosing.

Read more... >
Three ways to supercharge our super system
02 Nov 2015

Three ways to supercharge our super system

We got another taste of the critical relationship we have with our big banks as they recently jacked up their mortgage interest rates. But like them or not, banks and the broader financial system are a crucial part of our everyday lives.

Read more... >

We'll Put People First

Leave this empty: